What Winston Churchill Could Teach The Writer In Us

sir-winston-churchill-396973_640

As an English woman I am obviously a little biased about thinking that Sir Winston Churchill did great things for us. The British are proud of his determination and grit. He showed us how to keep going in what were sometimes battles which looked lost before the fight had even begun. I know that many of us would not be here without his actions and so will be forever grateful to him.

In 1953 Winston Churchill was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature for his ‘mastery of historical and biographical description as well as for brilliant oratory in defending exalted human values‘. He wrote many books and was an amazing writer. So for us to think like he did, and to learn from his thoughts and his books, could really benefit our writing. He can teach us so much.

We can learn not only from his books, but also from his quotes –

Kites rise highest against the wind, not with it‘ ā€• Winston Churchill

So many of us wait for the conditions to be right before we are prepared to try and take off. We check whether we feel right or ready for flight each day, not realising that today might be exactly the right day for us to soar.

Waiting to launch our writing, but not always knowing how, where or when because of fear. Wanting the wind to be behind our efforts before we will even consider putting either ourselves or our writing out there.

But the good news is that we can still attempt to fly no matter what direction the wind is coming from. With the right amount of wind, even if it is against us, we can actually fly even higher with our writing. We just have to believe, and go!

History will be kind to me for I intend to write it‘ – Winston Churchill

I have no doubt that we do have some sort of control over what choices we make. So, in a way, we can all write history. For it to be kind to us we need to make the right choices.

There are so many choices in relation to our writing these days. Do we concentrate on marketing as much as our writing? Do we write if the words are flowing and leave our social media accounts to at a future date? Or do we try and do it all?

What I do know is that we each need to do what is right for us.

Continuous effort – not strength or intelligence – is the key to unlocking our potential‘ – Winston Churchill

If we want to complete our goals as writers we need to continually strive to find the time to write. We also need to put in continuous effort. But this can be exhausting.

But, continuous effort, as Winston Churchill says, …’is the key to unlocking our potential’. So we owe it to ourselves to at least try to put as much effort as possible into our writing.

For motivation I have stuck this quote near my computer.

When there is no enemy within, the enemies outside cannot hurt you‘ – Winston Churchill

I am lucky that even though I can be shy at times, I do have enough confidence to be able to put my writing out there. It is not that my writing is wonderful, but that I am strong enough inside to be able to deal with any criticism that comes my way.

I also always make sure that I talk to myself with respect. I know that it is important to treat myself kindly, just in the same way that I would do to others. From that comes a core strength which ensures that, no matter what I do, I have a friend inside of me. One which ensures that no type of enemies can permeate my soul. Making me feel safe and secure in both myself and my abilities.

Winston Churchill knew that if you are strong inside, then you can more easily stand up against any negative outside forces. This is especially relevant with the negativity sometimes seen on the internet. Writers are sometimes the target of trolls and so need to be strong enough to deal with the negativity that may come their way. Hopefully this won’t happen to any of you. But I have experienced it and it wasn’t pleasant.

It is a mistake to try to look too far ahead. The chain of destiny can only be grasped one link at a time‘ – Winston Churchill

For many of us planning is something which we like to do. It gives us some boundaries which make us feel safe, and helps us to see what we will be doing today, this week, next month, or even next year.

Winston Churchill said that ‘it is a mistake to look too far ahead’. Prior to looking into his writing abilities I might have thought that this wasn’t so. But, he was an accomplished writer with many books to his name. So he could be onto something!

So should we concentrate more on what we are writing today, than be planning our next move?

The most important thing about education is appetite‘ – Winston Churchill

There is no doubt that writers need to continue to learn about their craft. Today we are lucky that there are so many ways for us to learn. In the past year I have attended several online teaching sessions from masters of the writing world. Many of them just like you and me in many ways, but with the determination to continue to learn from the best writers too.

Blogs are also a good source of information for writers. They afford us a place where we can interact with other writers, and feel part of a community which is both supportive if we are lucky, and interactive too.

Winston Churchill said that ‘the most important thing about education is appetite’, and that is so true. If we don’t want to learn from the best, or from our peers, then how can we ever expect to thrive in the competitive world of writing? I have no doubt that the more we learn about our craft, the better writers we will be.

I know that continuing education isn’t for everyone. But even if we can just learn from one of these quotes that would hopefully help the writer in us.

Thanks to Winston Churchill for showing us the way!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What Winston Churchill Could Teach The Writer In Us

Leave a Reply

